iPhone Save image to documents folder task in background thread

Discussion in 'iOS Development' started by jrlipartito, Aug 17, 2012.

1. jrlipartito

jrlipartito Newbie

I'm quite new to iOS programming. I've been working on a pretty simple camera app, but one major function I need to accomplish is to not only display an image taken with the built-in camera or picked from the iPhone gallery with a UIImageView, but also save it to the documents folder so it can be called in a second view controller later on. This I've managed to accomplish with the following code:

Code:
    //Save taken image to Camera Roll and display on UIImageView
        -(void)imagePickerController: (UIImagePickerController *)pickerdidFinishPickingMediaWithInfo: (NSDictionary *)info{

NSString *mediaType = [info objectForKey:UIImagePickerControllerMediaType];

[self dismissModalViewControllerAnimated:YES];

if ([mediaType isEqualToString: (NSString *)kUTTypeImage]) {

UIImage *image = [info 
                          objectForKey:UIImagePickerControllerOriginalImage];

imageView.image = image;
        imageView.hidden = NO;

if (newMedia)
            UIImageWriteToSavedPhotosAlbum(image, 
                                           self,
                                           @selector(image:finishedSavingWithError:contextInfo: ),
                                           nil);
    }
        //Save photo to documents folder
    {
    NSArray *paths = NSSearchPathForDirectoriesInDomains(NSDocumentDirectory, NSUserDomainMask, YES);
    NSString *documentsDirectory = [paths objectAtIndex:0];
    NSString *savedImagePath = [documentsDirectory stringByAppendingPathComponent:@"savedImage.png"];
    UIImage *image = imageView.image; // imageView is my image from camera
    NSData *imageData = UIImagePNGRepresentation(image);
    [imageData writeToFile:savedImagePath atomically:NO];
    }}